what is a certificate of financial responsibility insurance (sr-22)
Texas Transportation Code Chapter 601 requires a Certificate of Financial Responsibility Insurance (SR-22) to verify that you maintain motor vehicle liability insurance. Most insurance providers can issue an SR-22 and certify that you have the minimum liability insurance required by law. An insurance provider will automatically notify the department when an SR-22 is cancelled, terminated, or expires.
minimum liability amounts
The minimum amounts of liability coverage required by law are:
Reading: What is an sr22 insurance form
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in one accident,
- $60,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people in one accident, and
- $25,000 for damage or destruction of property of others in an accident.
For more information on minimum liability insurance laws, visit the Texas Department of Insurance.
financial responsibility, conviction or sentence
If your driving privilege has been suspended due to an automobile accident, you have received a second or subsequent conviction for not having motor vehicle liability insurance*, or a civil lawsuit has been filed against you, you must file a sr -22 with the department. you must maintain coverage for two years from the date of the conviction requiring an sr-22 or, in the case of a judgment against you due to an accident, two years from the date the judgment was entered . An SR-22 is also required when a security deposit is placed on the apartment as compliance for a collision or default suspension for collision.
An insurance card or policy will not be accepted in lieu of an sr-22.
authorized insurance providers
You must contact your local insurance agent or provider to obtain an SR-22. If you don’t own a vehicle, you should ask an insurance provider about a Texas Non-Homeowners SR-22 Insurance Policy.
sr-22 cancelled, rescinded or expired
Your driving privilege and vehicle registration may be suspended if:
- must file and maintain a valid sr-22 and do not have one on file with the department, or
- the department receives notice that the sr-22 on file has been cancelled, rescinded or expired, and a new sr-22 has not been filed prior to cancellation of the original policy.
requirements to reinstate driver’s license
To reinstate your driver’s license you must:
- present a valid sr-22 to the department and
- pay the required reinstatement fee of $100 prior to renewal or issuance of your driver’s license, in addition to paying any other outstanding fees .
See also: Life Insurance Coverage is Necessary
*if you are convicted of a second or subsequent offense for not having motor vehicle liability insurance, but you had insurance on the vehicle at the time of the offense, you may present your proof of insurance and the sr requirement will be waived -22.
For information on how to submit compliance and fees to the department, visit the Reinstate Your Driver License or Driving Privilege webpage.
driver eligibility status
To check the status of your driver license or to determine if you are eligible for reinstatement, visit the license eligibility web page. This page will provide you with information on what you will need to reinstate your driver’s license or driving privilege, including any fees you may owe. Once all compliance items have been processed and your suspension period has ended, your driver’s eligibility status will be updated to reflect “eligible”.
For more information on SR-22 (Proof of Financial Responsibility), visit the FAQ webpage or download the Driver’s License Compliance Measures table for a complete list of Driver’s License Suspensions and Revocations .